Which Celtics are up for hardware at NBA Awards?

Which Celtics are up for hardware at NBA Awards?

It’s been 18 days since the Warriors raised their third Larry O’Brien trophy in the last four years, and finally, the second-annual NBA Awards are here.

There are a few players on the C’s that are hoping to take home some hardware Monday night.

Jayson Tatum – Rookie of the Year

Tatum, who was named to the All-NBA Rookie Team, was also named a finalist for Rookie of the Year. The award seemed to be a two-man race between Philadelphia’s Ben Simmons and Utah’s Donovan Mitchell, with many questioning the legitimacy of Simmon’s status as a rookie. 

At this point, it looks that Simmons has all but locked up the award. The awards aren’t supposed to take playoff performances into consideration but Tatum certainly has an argument for the award if they did.

The rookie was outstanding during the C’s playoff run averaging 18.2 points per game on 46.7 percent shooting from the field. Tatum had just two games this postseason where he didn’t hit the double-digit mark and fell just one point short of tying the rookie playoff scoring record held by Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (352 points).

Not too mention, Tatum knocked out Simmons and the Sixers in just five games.

Brad Stevens – Coach of the Year

Stevens will be going up against Dwane Casey, formerly of the Toronto Raptors, and Quin Snyder for Coach of the Year.

Stevens seems like a runaway winner for this award. He lost an all-star in Gordon Hayward just five minutes into the season and lost his best player in Kyrie Irving seemingly on the eve of the playoffs. Tatum and Jaylen Brown are both progressing at an above-average rate and the C’s locked up the two-seed in the East with one of the best defenses in the NBA.

Interestingly enough, Stevens didn’t receive a single award for the Coach of the Year award voted on by the league’s 30 coaches. The guy that won it, Dwane Casey, was fired by his team just days after winning the award. Now that the media is voting for the award, we’ll see if things turn out differently.

Kyrie Irving – Play of the Year

This award is a little different. In the fan vote categories, Irving has already won “Handle of the Year” for his miraculous escape through a double-team during an October game in Milwaukee. Irving won the award over James Harden, Kemba Walker, Josh Jackson and Chris Paul.

Irving’s play was put to a vote for Play of the Year against Giannis Antekenoupo’s Dunk of the Year, LeBron James’s Clutch Shot of the Year and Assist of the Year and also Anthony Davis’s Block of the Year.

Full article @ Which Celtics are up for hardware at NBA Awards?

Source: GreenStreet Blog

Comments are closed.